Week 3 Blog Post

Which emerging pedagogy appeals most to you, and might be most useful for your classroom and students?  Why?

After doing some research for this weeks question I have decided that both MOOCs and a partial flipped classroom could really benefit my students and my classroom.

In the video posted in the article by Greg Thompson, Scott Garrison says that MOOCs are applicable easily in classrooms for high achieving students.  This statement immediately struck a chord with me because while I was teaching in Alaska something that I always felt guilty about was that I wasn’t able to reach my high performing students well enough.  Most of my time was consumed with getting my low performing and high needs students to be successful.  Setting up an already highly motivated and well performing students with a MOOC would be a great way to enrich the learning of that student.  I also really like the idea of students having blended schedules, as shown in the article by Thompson, where a student might be taking three in person courses, two online courses and two MOOC courses.  this type of learning style seems really flexible and adaptable to meet individual student needs best.

I also really like the idea of a flipped classroom, though most of the examples describe high school classrooms.  I was wondering how this model would work for an elementary teacher.  It would be challenging and time consuming to have to flip lessons for the 5 or 6 different subjects that elementary teachers teach.  After some more research I learned that for elementary teachers are recommended to do flipped lessons rather than and entirely flipped classroom (Bergmann, 2012).  Flipping individual lessons, and lessons that are part of a unit are the most recommended method, and just like with older students, teachers need to make sure they have figured out accessibility problems beforehand (Bergmann, 2012)  If students don’t have access at home, a teacher could play the video as a station in class.  One reason I really like this idea is because using a flipped classroom model helps improve engagement in students (Edudemic).  As t teacher, the most challenging part of my instructional day is trying to do direct instruction.  It is always a challenge to get my students to all listen, think and precess information all at the same time.  So removing this obstacle from our day, and turing it into either a homework assignment or station activity would really eliminate a lot of behavioral difficulties I face each day.  Also students who need to hear something again, or have something repeated could rewind and re-watch at their own discretion.  It would improve the ability for my students to learn and process new information and for me to spend my classroom time more effectively and efficiently.

Bergmann, J. (2012, July 6). Flipping the elementary classroom. Retrieved June 1, 2015, from http://jonbergmann.com/flipping-the-elementary-classroom/

The teacher’s guide to flipped classrooms. (n.d.). Retrieved June 1, 2015, from http://www.edudemic.com/guides/flipped-classrooms-guide/

Thompson, G. (2013, September 5). Get Ready: MOOCs Are Coming to K-12 — THE Journal. Retrieved June 1, 2015, from http://thejournal.com/Articles/2013/09/02/Get-Ready-MOOCs-Are-Coming-to-K-12.aspx?Page=1

5 thoughts on “Week 3 Blog Post

  1. Tristan Leiter says:

    I also wrote about the using the flipped classroom because it seems like I am always losing kids to sports trips. I was trying to think of ways to use it in the elementary classroom as well because this year I will be teaching two elementary classes and I like your idea of just doing some flipped lessons. This would get them ready for that type of learning once they hit secondary and it wouldn’t be a complete learning curve to them, they would already of the concept down from when they were younger. I think I might try that over the school year next year with my 4th and 5th graders and see how they do. I think it would be more engaging for them, even if they watch them in class, maybe they would think they are watching a movie instead of having direct instruction directly from the teacher and it would keep their attention better. A few years ago, the geometry teacher at my school took 3rd quarter off so I was the one to oversee his class, he did all his movies online and the students would watch them each day and take notes. It was really easy if the kids missed something or needed to be reminded of something to go to the lesson and watch that part real quick. I think it’s a great pedagogy to incorporate into the classroom.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Stacey- I said the same thing that I think MOOCS and a flipped classroom would benefit my students. I do feel the same way in that I feel I am not reaching my high performing students or be challenging them enough. I also feel that I spend most of my time trying to help the low performing students and trying to get them on track or caught up. I would love to do this in my classroom but feel I need the training first in order for it to be successful. Maybe one day I can get this in my classroom.

    Like

    • I agree I need training on how to use MOOCs too, but even more than that I think we all just need more awareness and information about what kinds of classes are available, and when and how!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I have been reading through the blogs on flipped classrooms and lessons and trying to figure out how I could do it with math in my classroom this coming year (once the school district lets me know which grade level I am going to teach). I think that if I have a primary grade, I can make my lessons and download them daily onto the iPod Touch. During center time, I could have a small group of students work through the math using manipulatives and our the math mats for our daily lesson to introduce the math concepts. Then, after learning center time, we could go through the rest of the lesson and do the homework in class in small groups. I’m not sure what your day looks like in your fourth (I think I remember you saying you teach fourth grade) grade classroom, but could you find time to allow students to watch a video and work with manipulatives during class before you teach math? It’s just a thought.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I was excited to see that you found a resource for using the flipped classroom model in elementary classrooms. Through my research, I didn’t find any examples – all high school. I like the idea of flipped lessons. However, I already teach in small groups for my primary subjects (reading, writing, and math). I think the flipped lessons would be great tools for social studies and science.

    This past year, I had one student who was more high achieving than my other students. My other students I was able to group together easily. For that high achieving student, I set him up in an online class, similar to a MOOC. It would be interesting to see if you could apply both to your classroom – have higher achieving students take some MOOCs and do a flipped lesson for students who might be lower achieving or right on grade level. That way higher achieving students wouldn’t watch a video on something they might already know.

    Like

Leave a Reply

