Essential Question 10

Although my data did not necessarily provide with the results that I expected, after collecting and tabulating all my data, I am very pleased with the data I have.  I have  a combination of quantitative and qualitative data that leads to really great opportunities for interpretations.

First off, I will explain the students engagement percentages that I got from the on task/off task observations by comparing them to the control data I collected before implementing Brain Gym.  By making this comparison I can explain that initially, the Brain Gym implementation did not improve student engagement, but as days progressed, student engagement increased with each day, and were this trend allowed to continue, it can be assumed that student engagement would have continued to improve until it topped out in the mid-high 90s.  I can make the assumption, that after an initial stagnation, while students adjusted to the new routine, engagement in the classroom was improved.

Secondly, I can assess student approval of the new routine after analyzing student surveys.  Using the surveys I can make generalizations about how students feel about using Brain Gym in the classroom.  Overall, student feel ‘happy’ about the Brain Gym activities, the favorite activity was “infinity drawing” and the students tend to feel refreshed, warmed-up and ready to learn after doing the activities.

Lastly, after conducting the focus group, I was able to understand the way students perceive physical movement in the classroom. The students understand and believe that physical activity in the classroom is important and they believe that it helps them be better learners.  The students are enjoying the ways we are incorporating physical activity and movement into the classroom and did not have any ideas about how to change or improve its use in the classroom.

What I learned from my data, is how much I can learn by asking my students questions about the functions and routines in the classroom.  It’s great because it really helps the students feel like their thoughts and opinions are being valued (they are!) and it helps me understand how well my classroom design is working for the students I have.  I really enjoyed this opportunity to get to hear from my students, and hear their opinions about what we do in class.  It was really refreshing to me as a teacher to her their personal thoughts and opinions about non-academic topics, and it was also reassuring to me to hear from them that they are enjoying what we do in class, they understand its value and they approve of its use.  The surveys were really quick and easy to do, but so insightful!  I may continue to use more informal surveys in the future!

6 thoughts on “Essential Question 10

  1. I can totally relate to your excitement over the open conversations with the students about their thoughts and opinions. That too was my favorite part of the data collection, getting to talk with them one-on-one. The hard part in this project was writing their responses down without adding my own interpretation in there. Each student has value in their opinion but we forget to make time for those candid discussions when we have so many other pressing responsibilities.
    Sounds like you know where you’re headed for this next section. I look forward to reading your results.

    Like

  2. It looks like you are well organized and ready to go!
    I did not know what “topped out in the mid-high 90s” referred to. Obviously it is a unit of measurement, I just do not what it represents. I assume you will explain this in your results, or perhaps you explained it in you research proposal.
    “Infinity drawing” sounds like fun! I hope you explain it – I want to know what it is!

    Like

  3. I agree with you you totally, I think my students really enjoyed taking the survey at the end. Their voice was heard and I think they appreciate that I value their opinions. It does feel strange when the results you expected turn out differently. But like I said earlier, I do believe this was too short of a time frame to see real results for academic progress. Things like that take time!

    Like

  4. “What I learned from my data, is how much I can learn by asking my students questions about the functions and routines in the classroom.” That statement is very powerful. I am glad that you take their thoughts and ideas into consideration. The conversations we have with them are so important to trust and to building a great classroom.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. rockislandtechie says:

    It’s interesting how we think of assessment that will lead to grading and evaluation of students but not about our own teaching; we rely on supervisors to observe and evaluate our effectiveness when we have so many ways that we can improve our practice through our own assessments. It’s so rewarding to connect with your students in a different way and for them to feel empowered and a partner in their own learning (and in your teaching)! What a great opportunity for them to advocate for a learning environment that meets their needs and interests!

    Like

  6. While reading your post, you reminded my of two things. First, I haven’t been looking at my data across time to see improvements over the 8 days I took data. I think that’s really important and need to go back and look at my data through that lens. It will be interesting to see what I can see. Second, this week I had two teachers and our AP come into my classroom and do an observation for 10 minutes. Without going into a long story, they take data on engagement. The person who collected data that day for my classroom noticed 100% engagement. Even though I’m done collecting data, I’m still taking my students outside for an extra recess break. So now you’ve got me wondering how continuing the extra recess is impacting them in the long run.

    Like

Leave a Reply

