Reflection Blog Week 8

Wow, I really got a lot of great feedback from my peers this week.  It is so interesting to see how the beginning f our research projects are beginning to turn out.  We spent about seven weeks carefully researching and preparing and getting familiar with our topics, but all our careful preparation and expectations become irrelevant once implementation begins.

It is reassuring to me to see that others are not receiving. the kind of data they expected.  Since I began implementing brain breaks in my classroom and recording and taking data from their use, I so far haven’t really seen a big change in my classroom engagement.  This was surprising to me, and not what I expected at all,  My peers have been very supportive of me and my work though, by reminding me that it is okay to not get the results I expected and also by suggesting different ways to take data and see if the brain breaks are affecting my classroom positively in other ways, outside of the ten minute observation period.  They have also been reminding me that just because engagement hasn’t improved doesn’t mean what I am doing is a waste of time, if the kids enjoy it and I do too, then what we are doing is good nonetheless.  I am looking forward to giving my students the survey to see how well they like doing brain breaks, and what I will learn from the focus groups, I suspect that I will get positive reactions, but then again last time I had expectations about results, they were not met, so who knows!  It’s great to have the support of others who are going through the same things as me right now, and I am grateful I have such thoughtful peers who are able to give me such helpful feedback.

Leave a Reply

